How To Research an Antique Sampler

LSG member Stasi is hoping some fellow members can help her to research an antique sampler.  Here’s her story:

 “My husband and I were in an antique store back in December. He noticed this sampler hanging on the wall and called me over to check it out. He had noticed that the date on the sampler was December 11th, 1816. It just so happens that we were there in the shop on December 11, 2010 AND it was my birthday! So, thinking it was fate, we bought it!!!

 The sampler iss stitched on approximately 52 count linen, motifs are over 2 and lettering over 1. The linen appears very fragile and there are some small holes and worn areas. It was already framed and looks like it’s been mounted over another piece of linen.

 I Googled the name, Alethea Hewerdine right away but didn’t come up with much. I did find two small towns in England named Woolsthorpe.

 I’d appreciate it if someone can steer me into a good direction for finding more info. This is my first foray into researching an antique sampler– definitely a virgin at this. So, thank you in advance; any help will be appreciated. I’m scheduled for some surgery this Wednesday and this would help give me something to focus on during my recuperation.”

 Stasi’s email is StchNbee@aol.com.  We hope Stasi can fill in some of the details about this lovely sampler and share the story with us in the future.

