Recent Sampler Finishes

Two of our members brought their recently finished samplers to our February meeting. 

Anne Durbin stitched this piece with that wonderfully morbid verse “When I am dead and in my grave and all my bones are rotten Remember me when this you see That I am not forgotten.”

If you look closely at the photo you’ll see that Anne not only added her name, but the words “Stitched during the blizzard.”  Such a great way to personalize the piece and remember when she stitched it.

This piece by Stacy Diokno is significant to her because it’s the first traditional sampler she’s stitched.  Although she’s been a member of the LSG for several years, it took her a while to make the plunge into this kind of project.  Stacy personalized the piece to reflect a special anniversary.

Thanks Anne and Stacy for sharing your work with us!

2 Responses to “Recent Sampler Finishes”


  1. 1 JoAnn Hoffman February 16, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Just a note to compliment both ladies on their terrific finishes. The framing on both is appropriate. I only wished I lived closer so that I could view them up close.

    We are still cleaning up after the ice storm here in Northern Ohio. Today should bring to an end the ice in our driveway.
    JoAnn

  2. 2 Nancy Dluehosh February 16, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I took the pictures of the samplers shown and am sorry that the skylight reflection is visible in Anne Durbin’s sampler. Bear with me as I work on improving my historian skills!
    Nancy Dluehosh


Comments are currently closed.




