Mystery Sampler Band 2: Work in Progress

The second band of our year-long Mystery Sampler project was designed by Donna La Branche.  She included a section of bargello, a pair of birds (lovebirds maybe?) and a quote from Claude Monet that many of our members can identify with.  Here’s the full story of the quote, which Donna turned up in her research:

Color is my day-long obsession, joy and torment. To such an extent indeed that one day, finding myself at the deathbed of a woman who had been and still was very dear to me, I caught myself in the act of focusing on her temples and automatically analyzing the succession of appropriately graded colors which death was imposing on her motionless face.”

At the March meeting, a dozen members shared their work-in-progress. Here are photos of a few of the bands.  Just look at how much variation!  The birds have become robins and cardinals and others.  Melissa has added her signature “bee.” The bargello got curvy, got shorter, and stretched straight across the band. And there’s such a variety of colors!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “Mystery Sampler Band 2: Work in Progress”


  1. 1 Willa Brown March 19, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Great pictures Elizabeth! I love all the differences in each band. This is so much fun!!

  2. 2 Donna March 20, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    I can’t begin to say how thrilled I am to see what everyone has done with my band. So much fun for me!


Comments are currently closed.




