The Tale of the Two Clocks

The post with show and tell photos from the January meeting brought a couple of questions about the two embroidered clocks, so I asked Kathleen and Gloria to repeat the story for those who weren’t there.  Kathleen’s clock was in her family, although her mother and aunts don’t recall much about it.  Gloria found hers at an Antique Emporium in Front Royal, VA for just $35.  They were delighted to see the twin clocks temporarily reunited, and to compare notes on the stitching.

Little is known about the original designer or kit.  The selvedge contains this information: No. 01 022X (PSK23) Made Expressly for the American Home by Paragon Needlecrafts.  Maybe a reader of this blog will know more.

DSC_2553

4 Responses to “The Tale of the Two Clocks”


  1. 1 Barbara Hutson June 11, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    The Paragon Needlecraft company was in business selling kits for over 60 years. The kits were sold in catalogs, magazines, Lee Wards, J C Penney, Sears, Macy’s and sew on…. In 1985 they filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 11. They came out of that and In 1987 adopted their present name – National Media Corporation. My DH thought he would surprise me in the late 1990’s by winning a bid on Ebay for a big sampler worked on blue-green linen that looked like a sampler worked in the late 1800’s….when we took it apart it was clearly marked Paragon Kit. I found out it was from the 1970’s. I see finished samplers just like the one he bought all the time on Ebay.
    Barb

  2. 2 Becky Gutin June 11, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    Oh, my mother stitched that clock when I was a child, fifty-five or so years ago. All of our family, my dad, my brother (who was around mid-teens so I’m sure there was eye-rolling), my three sisters and me, stitched something on the clock. It hung in Mom & Dad’s dining room until they moved into a retirement home around 10 years ago. One of my siblings has it now. It’s so cool to see this design again!

  3. 3 Pat Cross June 11, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    I stitched this clock just before I was married, 45 years ago (1969). My Mother stitched and ordered the kit for me. The offer was in either Women’s Day or Family Circle magazine. I got rid of my clock during one of my many moves. The picture with the darker finish looked like my old clock. Thanks!
    What a fun memory!


Comments are currently closed.




